• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 548 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 148,495 hits

Before and After…Day 1

Day 1 of testing is over.

I went into school looking like this…

Then I lugged four 40-bottle cases of water, a cooler, two heavily-laden bags of goodies, my mini-crockpot with a healthy heaping of homemade potato soup, and my purse into school.

It looks like split pea soup. It’s only green because of the leeks.

While it was raining.

I had an amazing crew of helpers this morning.  Ms. K rocked out the seating charts.  Headphones were Lysoled…twice.

Two groups of ninth graders tested with me today.  All were extremely respectful and patient, even when we had some issues with the computer sounds.  The second group was even understanding when we didn’t finish in time for them to have their entire lunch period.

When you’re a teacher, testing is so stressful because you want to make sure that you follow every rule to the letter so you don’t do anything to jeopardize a student’s success.

I got home looking like this…

I should probably be planning to go to bed at 7pm.

Instead, I’ll be working on next week’s lesson plans so I won’t have to worry about them the rest of the week.

I also need to be able to get into the copy room on Wednesday, when I have my next planning period.  We are on a delayed start most of this week, and the schedules are staggered so we can meet with all of our classes during a two-day period.  Thus, teachers will lose two of our planning periods this week.

Can we fast forward to Friday?  There’s no telling how bad my Day 4 “After” look will be.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

