• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 555 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,813 hits

Shopping Delights

Here in Florida, we’re currently enjoying Tax Free Week.  It’s something the state does every year, and it’s the chance for shoppers to save a few dollars while stocking up on new items.  I think the intent was for it to coincide with back-to-school shopping, but you don’t have to be a student to enjoy new goodies.

On Saturday, the Mr. and I headed out to the mall.  I had a few coupons and a gift card I’d found in my purse.  All were begging to be used.

Despite the thunderstorms that were dumping rain everywhere, we went ahead with our plans.  We enjoyed lunch at Uncle Maddios (lots of vegan options for me) before heading to Ulta, Nike, Victoria Secret, Loft, and Dillard.

I bought the following dress at Loft…

Truth be told, the dress looks way better on me (sorry, model girl).  I got the Petite Small, and it fits like a dream.  I’ve opted not to wear the tie with it.  It was $25.00 off, and I had a 15% teacher discount.

I also bought this shirt…

That’s not me in the picture, by the way.  The shirt was pricey and was not on sale.  Egads.  I did, however, have $17 left on a long-forgotten but newly-found gift card.  I used that along with my teacher discount.  It will look great with a pair of black pants I have.  I’d also like to find a black skirt to add to my wardrobe, but since I don’t like to shop, that might not happen for awhile.

Now, allow me to sing the praises of Dillard.

Oh Dillard…how I love your shoe sales.

I’ve figured out that Saturdays are key days for sales.  I was on the hunt for brown wedges, and because I couldn’t decide between a couple of pairs, I bought them both.  The prices were that good.

Gianni Bini is my main squeeze right now, let me tell you.  The leather in these shoes are very soft, and the wedges make me taller with the added security that the heels I usually enjoy wearing don’t offer.

Please excuse the unpolished tootsies.  I sent the picture to Super Sis, and she called me out on them, as any sister should.

I really like the strappy-ness of these shoes.  I wore them to dinner after we ate and kept looking down at my feet with a smile on my face.

The other pair of shoes I fell in love with and purchased were these…

I think they look a little dressier than the strappy shoes, and the wedge is even higher.  The Mr. didn’t like the light colored straw-like wedge; he preferred the cork bottoms of the first pair.  We debated and fussed before he encouraged me to buy what I wanted.  😀

After we went home and fed the dogs (Pele had, apparently, already dined on papers that the Mr. had left on his spot in the laundry room when we forgot to crate him for the five hours we were gone), we headed out to eat, stopping at Sports Authority on the way.

Here’s the picture of the Mr.’s spot.  At least Pele left the lottery ticket alone…

The Mr. had a 20% Sports Authority coupon, and I was on the hunt for a pair of Nike shoes I’d seen at Dillard but had not purchased last week when they were on sale (they weren’t on sale this week).

I tried on a couple of pairs before settling on these…

It’s been a few years since I had a new pair of sneakers.  Let me tell you, they have come a long way!  These things felt like they molded to my feet when I put them on!  I’m hoping they will help me be a more efficient runner.  Heck…anything that helps, eh?

Thus ended our day of shopping.  It will probably be awhile before we splurge like that again, but that’s okay.  Our wallets need time to recover, and I need time to wear out all of my new clothes!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

