• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 549 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 150,553 hits

A Ray of Sunshine

Today was my 26th wedding anniversary.

I started off the day early, early, early with a workout, shower, and a careful selection of my wardrobe for work…

Yes, that is my redneck outfit, and yes, I am standing on a toilet, thank you very much.

Because I am cool like that.

Twenty-six years, and the Mr. hasn’t dumped me for a more refined woman.

God bless him.

Anniversaries should be considered national holidays or something (just staying married should be celebrated by everyone in these days and times of quickie divorces), and, as such, things should go perfectly on such special days.

However, I am Auburnchick, where what can go wrong will go wrong.

I got to work a few minutes late for a meeting that I’d totally forgotten about.

Sigh.

A mere few minutes after arriving, I was informed that I had a bit of a wardrobe issue…as in something that needed changing…before I interacted with children.

Sigh.

So, while another teacher watched my class, I drove home (thank goodness I live in Small Town, USA), changed my clothes, and headed back to school.

Oh, the transformation.  I went from Redneck Chic to Express store, professional chic.  The change gave me the opportunity to wear the new shirt I’d bought ON CLEARANCE during a flash sale a couple of weeks ago.  It paired well with my black skinny jeans.

Anyhoo, I was not a very happy camper, despite my rather fake smile in the picture above), having my morning thrown off like that.  I was also missing my sweet first period class and all of the plans I’d made.

Fortunately, when I walked in, they were doing EXACTLY what they were supposed to be doing…in their ASSIGNED seats.  In fact, the teacher next door didn’t hear a peep out of them for the first twenty minutes I was gone.

I gave them double Dojo points.  They earned it.

With those snafus, I was flustered, but I rallied.

Near the end of second period, one of the school’s secretaries delivered a box to my room.  During my planning, I opened it and discovered this beautiful flower arrangement, which the Mr. had thoughtfully ordered…

Sunflowers have always been my favorite.  They smelled heavenly and completely brightened up my room and my mood.

The day wound up going pretty well.

Despite feeling completely overwhelmed, still, and a step behind where I’d like to be at this point in the week, I am smiling.

I am so blessed to have a husband who has stuck by me through some difficult times.  We’re at a point in our lives where we are able to focus on each other more, let issues that once bothered us go by the wayside quicker, and plain old have fun, like young kids, together.

Happy Anniversary, hon!  Love you more than I say and more than you know.  ❤

2 Responses

  1. Happy Annicersary! I’m glad that your day managed to right itself and that your class did you proud in your absence.

  2. Happy anniversary!

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

