• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 149,836 hits

Catching Up – Mother’s Day Weekend

Well, now that the school year is just about over, I’m finding myself with a wee bit more time to partake in activities that I’ve neglected.

Blog writing is one of them.

I have sooooooo many things to catch up on, so let’s start with Mother’s Day weekend, which I alluded to a few posts ago.

The weekend started off in a super-sweet way when the Mr. and I went out to dinner.

Randomly, in the middle of a story I was telling, he pulled out a card for me.

The card took me by surprise, and the words made me shed a few tears.

We have been through SO MUCH the past seven months, beginning with me breaking my ankle and followed by his illness.  These events have brought us closer as nothing else in our marriage has.

The next day, he and I headed out to see the newest installment of Guardians of the Galaxy.  It was so funny and a bit sad too.

Near the end of the movie, I received a text from Chicky along with a photo of Gambit.

She had tried to surprise us by coming home for the weekend.  When she’d gotten to the house and found it empty, then had seen my Instagram photo of the Mr. and me headed to the movie, she knew she needed to act fast.  She didn’t want to be left out of dinner plans.  Ha!

We drove home, picked her up, and headed out, back to one of our favorite Mexican restaurants.

First thing Sunday morning (Mother’s Day), I opened the package I had received from Rooster and his girl . . .

Rooster had picked up the beautiful, 100% cashmere Pashmina scarf in Thailand.  The card was adorable.  These kiddos know me well.

The Mr. had to work that day, so Chicky and I played Hooky from church and headed to the beach.

Along the way, we had to stop and let this family of ducks cross the street  . . .

We stopped at Walmart to pick up snacks, and I bought a new hat . . .

We got to the beach around 10, which was great because we got a really good parking spot and found the perfect place to spread out our stuff on the beach.

Chicky immediately went down to the water to check it out.

We could not have asked for better weather.

I was loving my hat, let me tell you.

Chicky isn’t a big talker, so we just relaxed, each with our own books . . . our own thoughts.

We asked the couple sitting beside us if they would watch our stuff so we could grab lunch.  They kindly agreed.

There’s a small place that overlooks the beach, so we headed there.  I absolutely love this restaurant.  It has outside seating, and you can request a beach-side view.  The food is tasty and not very expensive.

When we finished, we headed back to the beach but stopped and asked someone to take our photo.

We wound up staying at the beach a total of four and a half hours, so we were beat when we left.  Chicky rested when we got home; the dogs were so happy to have her there.

Chicky wound up leaving late that day, just as Rooster and his girl were Facetiming me.  She was able to stick her head in front of the camera so they could chat a moment before she headed out for her drive home.

Mother’s Day is always hard for me.  I don’t like the obligation of the holiday . . . especially because I no longer have a relationship with my mom.  Being remembered in such sweet ways by my hubby and children touched my heart so much.  I never feel worthy; they made me feel loved.

It was a weekend I won’t soon forget.

2 Responses

  1. What a sweet Mother’s Day you had. Being at the beach has to be wonderful. Lord willing I’ll be at a beach for a bit in November. The pictures of you and your daughter are so adorable.

  2. That scarf is GORGEOUS… & you are ADORABLEEEEEEE in that hat!!!!!
    Dont you love getting a good mushy card with sweet words

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

