• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 547 other followers

  • “Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers” — Isaac Asimov

  • Recent Posts

  • Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 151,026 hits

Flag Day Hodgepodge

Is it my imagination, or did the Hodgepodge image disappear from Joyce’s blog?  I couldn’t find it, so I copied it from one of my previous posts.

Anyhoo, get distracted much?  Ha!

It is time for the Hodgepodge, so if you want to play, link up with Joyce after you answer your own questions.  Thanks for visiting!!

1.  The Hodgepodge lands on June 14th this week, Flag Day in the US of A. Do you fly your country’s flag at home? Sometimes, often, or every single day? Have you ever visited the city of Brotherly Love (Philadelphia)? Did you make a point of seeing The Betsy Ross House? Have you ever made a trip to Baltimore? If so, was Fort McHenry on your itinerary? (where Francis Scott Key was inspired to write The Star Spangled Banner)

I don’t have a flag flying but want to so badly!  I’ve asked the Mr. about getting something set up, but he’s leery of doing anything to our brick, so there’s that.  I’m thinking that I might get a garden flag.

I have never visited Philadelphia.  Chicky went on a trip there either last year or the year before.  She told me that it would be a place I’d love since I’m a history buff.  I’ve also never been to Baltimore.  There really needs to be a trip in my future.

2.  Red flag or white flag? Which have you encountered most recently? Explain.

I’ve recently had to throw up the white flag in regard to physical therapy and insurance.  I’m about to have a month-long break until my new PT visits get doled out.  I’m grateful for insurance, but it sure can wreak havoc with getting the help you need in a timely manner.

3.  Are you a stay in the car listen to the end of a song kind of person? What kind of person is that?

Yeah, I guess I’d say that I will stay in the car and listen to the end of a song if it’s something I haven’t heard in awhile or if it has special meaning to me.  I guess that might sound lame given our access to music these days, but oftentimes, God uses music to speak to my heart, and I’m not ready to turn it off just because I’ve reached my destination.

4.  What are some of the traits or qualities you think a good dad possesses? In other words, what makes a good dad? What’s an expression you associate with your father?

A good father possesses wisdom, consistency, and grace.  A good father is strong but willing to let his guard down to show vulnerability.  A good father is one who’d be happy to sit down for a tea party or put his work down to go out and throw a ball around.  A good father puts his wife first and treats her like a queen so that his children will see what it’s like to be a man who has his priorities straight.  Most importantly, a good father is one who knows the one and only Father, isn’t afraid to pray with his children, and models a life of serving God.

I didn’t have a father growing up who did these things.  My parents divorced when I was very young, and except for a couple of visits, I didn’t know my dad until I had children of my own.  We only got a few short years together, which wasn’t nearly enough to build a deep relationship.  I do know that my dad was quirky, loved nature, and wasn’t afraid to be silly in front of people.  I don’t really know what expression I could associate with him, though.

5.  What’s one rule you always disagreed with while growing up? Is that rule somehow still part of your adult life? Is that a good or bad thing?

The main rule I didn’t like was that I had to be home really early the morning after I’d slept over at a friend’s house.  I didn’t understand why I couldn’t lounge around with a friend’s family . . . leisurely enjoy breakfast with them.  I did not have that rule for my own children.  I felt like it was unfair and heavy handed.  I had enough rules that my children didn’t like.  I didn’t see a reason for adding yet another.

6.  My Random Thought

You know it’s summer when I allow myself to go out to eat with the Mr. looking like this . . .

The hair was freshly washed and dried, but it wasn’t straightened or fixed in any other way.  There’s barely makeup on my face, and I was very casually dressed in a t-shirt and comfy stretch pants.  I wasn’t even sporting any jewelry.  I usually like to fix up when we go places, but it was after 6pm, he was hungry, and I figured what the heck.

I love summer vacation!

9 Responses

  1. Insurance Companies are a pain in the neck to deal with. Have a great weekend.

  2. I love your thoughts on what it means to be a good dad. Very sweet.

  3. My father in law is ill and dealing with insurance could be a full time job. I can’t imagine an older person navigating some of this stuff without any sort of advocate. Happy Summer! Enjoy some rest and relaxation before a new school year rolls around again!

  4. Consistency…I didn’t think of it when I made my list, but that is very important in parenting!
    I think you look just fine for a summer supper out!

  5. I liked your father thoughts.
    Enjoy your summer vacation, you looked lovely!

  6. It’s so hard to remember that parents are people, too. I once discussed my parents’ rule about eating everything on the plate…hated that one. I said smugly that I didn’t have that rule and I had one child who was picky and one who ate everything. My mother smiled and said that she had the very same score despite having the rule.

    Thank you for popping by today!

  7. I loved how you described what a good father, so true. I think you look great in the photo. You look healthy and happy. And little makeup and no jewelry is more earthy and sporty to me.

  8. As a retired teacher I so connected with much you have written… although I taught elementary school I did still enjoy trying to catch up on the new literature.Your reading list does look very interesting… I am especially curious about your read aloud choice.. Since Im prob twice your age I will laughingly admit that the word consistent just wouldnt come to me.. try as I might,, that is the worst part of being 66. But I did so enjoy your post!!!

  9. I agree with you on the insurance thing. SWMBO and I have great health insurance which has been a blessing, but the things that they don’t cover kind of nickle and dimes you to excess. I feel your pain.
    Thanks for visiting my blog page and for leaving a comment.

Thank you for visiting today and taking the time to leave a comment!

